Enjoying Melbourne, missing SoCal

We’re here in Melbourne, as you must have guessed! The day we arrived was supposed to be the first day of spring, but, omg, is it still sooo cold here! Of course, both Bryan and I have come here from SoCal via Singapore, two pretty warm cities, so we deserve some buffer time to get used to the cold(er) weather here.

Seven years ago, on September 11 2001, the day that changed America and the world, I was sitting in my College Square apartment, just about 2 streets away from where I am sitting today in my temporary apartment, watching the news and seeing the fall of the World Trade Center. And today, 7 years later, 3 hours short of September 11 2008, I have gone to the U.S., hung out there for a while, visited the World Trade Center rubbles, and am now back in Melbourne, Australia. Serendipity? Maybe, but I am thinking that there is a reason why God brought me, a Singaporean who was very contented and happy in SoCal and who just got married to an American dude, back to Australia.

Only time can tell, I guess.

I do miss SoCal badly. There’s something about America that has always appealed so strongly to me. I miss the loud and obnoxious dudes; I miss the blond valley girls with coarse voices; I miss having 100 channels of cable tv; I miss my little (ex) Corolla; I miss seeing Spanish street and city names AND hearing Spanish spoken; and, boy, do I miss the wonderful people I met there. I guess the thing I miss most is the familiarity of the place and the predictability of the type of career and life I would have had if we had continued living there.

At least Melbourne is not foreign grounds to me. It’s been really nice to be back in this town, with Bryan. It’s nice to hang out in a more laid back city, dwell with the fellow Commonwealth citizens, and know that there are hundreds and thousands of Singaporeans in this town. I am also excited that Bryan is doing something he truly enjoys, is earning relatively good mondy, and that he has found good co-workers and is enjoying the city. I think I will be more happy and at ease with myself once I find a job and start putting my speech therapy training in practice.

Whatever it is, I am truly thankful and grateful for all of God’s blessings so far.

Anyway, I’ve written too much for now. Will talk more about our last ten days here when I update my blog tomorrow – with juicy tidbits, so don’t forget to keep reading!

Leave a Reply

