Roast your own coffee beans!

I finally tried roasting my own coffee beans today!

Yes, my coffee consumption habits seem to be moving toward one often associated with elitist gourmet type snobbery. In my defense, I would like to say that…I can REALLY taste a difference between instant coffee, freshly brewed coffee, freshly ground and brewed coffee, freshly ground and brewed in a french press (or plunger) coffee, and now, freshly roasted, ground, and brewed in a french press/plunger coffee. And there is no way my taste buds can take anything less anymore.

Am I nuts? No. (Although if you ask Bryan he may tell you otherwise. Heh.) I just love GOOD coffee too much AND I just happen to have a lot of free time.

Here are photos documenting my little experiment! I tried the skillet method from Sweet Maria’s Home Roasting site.

coffee_raw

Raw, green coffee beans from New Guinea

coffee_roasting

Coffee beans roasting in the hot skillet

coffee_cooling

Roasted coffee beans with chaff still on

coffee_roasted

Roasted coffee beans cooling down

Quite a success! Although the coffee beans weren’t roasted as evenly as I had hoped; as you can see, some beans are lighter than others. It kind of works out for me, actually, because I enjoy a mixture of darkly and lightly roasted coffee beans anyway. But next time, I will be more aggressive in mixing the beans in the pan for a more even result; it’s a skill! I would recommend this to anyone who cares enough about coffee. It’s really fun! You will get the best, freshest, and most satisfying cup of coffee ever, and your apartment will smell of coffee all afternoon! MMMmmhmm. 😉

2 comments
  1. Ellen said:

    You are such a food snob!
    I don’t even know where to get unroasted coffee here..
    I can almost smell from your pictures!

  2. cherbie said:

    LOL! Actually I’m not so bad yet…I aint one of those people who can tell the difference between South American or Java beans…YET. I think you can find unroasted coffee at maybe Starbucks or the Coffee Bean. They don’t display it out front but you can ask! I think you’ll enjoy roasting it yourself! Just keep your sliding door open wide coz the apartment is gonna smell of coffee for hours! (Not that I have a problem with that!!)

Leave a Reply

