Updates

¡Hola! I haven’t forgotten about this blog – the last couple weeks have just been rather busy and filled with so many new developments almost every other day that even I haven’t had the time to keep up with them. I won’t go into the details of these “new developments” until next week when the dust settles. But, I will share on this blog a few things besides Etsy that kept me busy:

– Working @ the hospital. I was put to work at the Aged Care Ward, conducting swallowing assessments and reviews. Many people are scared to work with the geriatric population and to be honest, before January 2008, I was one of them. I was scared to even work in a hospital, where everything moves SO quickly. While Bry’s side of the family n friends is filled with doctors and some very, very smart people (we’re talking VERY smart) and I feel almost comfortable dealing with them, I was still nervous to have to deal with nurses and, even worse, doctors rambling names of diseases, medications, anatomies, that I may have heard of  and have to remember if it is crucial history. But my worries were for nothing. The hospital internship @ Arcadia totally changed that view. I LOVED it there. My supervisors and all the other staff working there were so friendly, knowledgeable, but never intimidating. Sure, a few doctors were a little !@#$%! but most of them were wonderful! But my favorite people were my patients. And I was delighted that my time @ the Aged Care Ward was a similar experience. Sure, some of the patients there were a lot more delirious and demented than the ones I saw in Arcadia, but they were still lovely, and (my grad school supervisors might be horrified if they ever read this…) cute. Totally cute. I do hope to work in the hospitals again someday.

– Vacationing in Brissy/Noosaville/Noosa. WONDERFUL. Brisbane city is such a pretty town, new, modern architecture, and very very pleasant. Of course the warm weather made the trip there even better, considering how F-in’ cold Melbourne is these days. Noosaville, a riverside town, and Noosa, a beachside town, were even better. Pristine beaches, beautiful parks, and best of all, very little crowd. Such a relaxing getaway!

IMGP5254

– PURCHASING A CAR. YES, we got a CAR!! And we got a Toyota Corolla Hatchback. Whee! It’s white, about 2 years old but looks brand new, and is very cute (different cuteness from the cute mentioned earlier). My old ’98 Corolla Sedan will always have first place in my heart as far as car love affairs go, but this new one has swept me off my feet!

– Planning my vacation back to Singapore!! WHOOOT! I failed to mention to friends on FB that I’ll be in Vietnam for a good chunk of that one week back in South-East Asia. :-/ But hopefully I’ll get to visit Sg again before the end of the year with Bryan.

Bry’s leaving for LA soon! I’m so bummed I can’t go with him. I still dream about SoCal all the time (and if you read my backposts you can see n feel my obsession with CalifoRRRnia). Hopefully we will get to go there this year end. SO many places to visit, so little money and time!! Boo.

Speaking of time, got to go now. More updates hopefully soon. Currently reading “The Story of Edgar Sawtelle” by David Wroblewski. Along with “The God Delusion” by Richard Dawson. And do remember to check out my handmade jewelry @: http://cherbie.etsy.com – 10% off all items this weekend!

Chau.

Leave a Reply

