Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. It is indeed wonderful to have a day set aside to reflect upon all the blessings we’ve received n continue to enjoy. In fact, we should be thankful for both things we have and things we want to have but have not yet gotten.

This year, Bry and I had a more untraditional Thanksgiving dinner. No birds on the table; just, red meat and vegs. Well, we did have some corn…:-) I tried out a new recipe: artichoke stuffed mushrooms; twas delicious. And our steak, magnificient!!!

Food aside:

I have lots to be thankful for this season. It has been a rough year for me and my family. I am thankful that things are now on the uphill, even though I am also thankful for the trials that plagued my life.

I am thankful for God, the everlasting source of joy and peace, the Creator of the Heavens and the Earth. I am thankful that he sent Jesus to cleanse us from our sins, for without this assurance that our sins are forgiven, how can we live this life in peace? I am thankful that Christianity has so much more meaning for me now, that God has granted me this deep peace in my heart that I am loved by Him and that despite all my blemishes, I am still a child of God.

I am thankful for my family who have supported me through everything. My husband who despite all my ugliness, still embraced me and told me he is thankful for me. I am thankful for love, that it is more than just a feeling. I am thankful for understanding this love at a higher level.

I am thankful for my friends, my secret angels, who have been so wonderful to me throughout everything. Who so patiently listened and guided me through. Who hung out with me, who helped me through.

I am thankful for a job, for a roof over my head, for the people I work with, for enjoying peace and stability in Australia, for good health, for life.

My heart is still heavy for those around me who are going through tough times. I continue to pray for my friends who are struggling with relationships, work, making ends meet, taking care of loved ones whore sick. I pray for enlightenment, peace, strength, wisdom, and guidance for all of them. Life is not a smooth ride, we all agree on that, but every bump, every challenge, molds us and shapes us to be better equipped to handle more difficult times. And, for that, I am thankful.

Happy Thanksgiving, y’all.

Leave a Reply

