2011.

Happy New Year. The first month is nearly whizzed past, already! And it’s been nearly 7 weeks since my last post. Wow.

I have a confession: I haven’t felt like keeping this blog any longer as I haven’t quite found any real desire to write about my more than ordinary life. Simply because, well, I have nothing more to say than a sentence or two every other day and this proclamation of the excitement in my life is  easily taken care by Facebook status updates (with photo uploads at times).

Recently, I read a news article on the NYTimes about famous people’s private (handwritten) diaries on display in some museum, with private journals ranging from Queen Victoria, to John Steinbeck, Albert Einstein, and even Bob Dylan. The article opened with a quote from Steinbeck, “I have tried to keep diaries before…but they didn’t work out because of the necessity to be honest.” So herein lies my dilemma: I don’t want to show the world my weaknesses and the true me. And yet, I haven’t any real “excitement” going on right now in my life which, don’t get me wrong, is PERFECTLY GREAT. No news is good news; I am a believer.

So it seemed only logical to stop blogging. Some of my friends travel widely, have babies, and have actual newsworthy things to share. I have, uhm, an ongoing job position….? It meant the world to me and I was absolutely stoked when I got the news but am I that narcissistic to think that the world cares about it and that I would want or expect anyone other than my immediate family to know or care about this? Once again, I decided if I should abandon ship and stop blogging altogether. Afterall, a lot of my friends, many of whom I admire, do not do dorky crap like blog. Too self-indulgent. Too uncool. I also know what it is to read a person’s writing, go through it with a fine-tooth comb, fault it, analyze it, and judge the writer…

Writing is not my forte. Yet, the man I’m married to writes impeccably (I have gently hinted that he should think about writing a book or contributing articles to major newspapers because he writes just as well – if not better – than a lot of good journalists/writers). My grammar, after all these years, still embarrasses me and I cringe at times when I re-read what I had written before. BUT, one of my resolutions this year (a list is yet to be written) is to improve on that, as well as start reading more voraciously again. The Speech-Language Pathologist I am knows how intrinsically linked reading and writing are, which was a good enough reason for me to keep this blog. To keep writing. Like I mentioned in another post previous to this, I will try to pick topics of interest and write. I always tell parents of children I work with especially ones with speech/articulation difficulties: the best way to improve on your child’s speech is to practice. (Yes, there is research to back this up, but common sense is all you need to understand this logic.)

So here I am, putting my own words to the test: I will keep this blog for another year. To keep writing. To hopefully be better in time.

2011, let’s go.

Leave a Reply

