I heart Singapore

Although I wasn’t 100% happy with the election outcomes, especially with one of my favorite ministers, George Yeo, being voted out, and although I don’t agree with a lot of the online chatter about the “good” opposition candidates (I have a few favorites myself who weren’t voted in, unfortunately, but who didn’t receive as much hype as *ahem* one Nicole Seah, for example) I was still proud of my country for 1) being so bold and allowing more opposition to contest 2) my young Singaporeans who stepped up and really engaged in some thought about what they want for their country 3) the passion that was unleashed amongst younger Singaporeans about the state of affairs in Singapore.

I’ve been away from home for nearly 6 years now and I couldn’t be more proud today. I’ve always had a special place for Singapore, no matter how much my friends complained about the weather, cost of living, etc., but today, I sense immense the pride and joy of being Singaporean. That people have finally started to think about their country. Things are going to change quite drastically in Singapore, and I pray it will be for the better. May God bless Singapore. Majulah Singapura!

Leave a Reply

