Winter warmer #2: Korean stew soup

20120131-200112.jpg

I’m all about the soups these days: they’re simple to prepare and are great comfort foods for the cold weather. Since having to look after a newborn, I’ve had to whip up meals that are easy yet not compromise on the quality or nutritious value especially since I’m still breastfeeding.

Tonight I made a rendition of kimchi jigae. Jigae means stew in Korean. I first had it at Bry’s parents’ place. Bry’s mom makes the most delicious Korean food and this dish was one of the many she made that I absolutely love. As I didn’t have the spicy bean paste or any other korean soup bases in our still rather poorly stocked pantry, I had to be creative. I used:

  • Kimchi – lots of it and used the juice as well for the soup base
  • Chicken Stock
  • Soy Sauce
  • Sesame Oil
  • Garlic
  • Cabbage
  • Tofu
  • Tofu puffs
  • Chicken
  • Scallions
  • Little xiaobaicai
  • Mushrooms

The great thing about this was I just threw all the ingredients in a pot and let it cook, then boiled up some rice on the side…and voila, we have a delicious and healthy dish full of vegetables and protein. This was not as good as my mother-in-law’s Jigae, tho it came quite close and satisfied my craving for Korean food.

Did I mention how much I LOVE being settled in to our new place and have a nice, clean  kitchen where I’m able to cook again? 🙂

Leave a Reply

