Making adjustments

20120323-172746.jpg

Today’s weather in Vancouver was AMAZING. It really felt like spring (or just another ordinary day in SoCal…oh yeah, I miss that place quite a bit!).

With Benji’s eczema being so unpredictable and the sides of his face starting to act up again (much to my distress) I had to cancel plans to go on an Arts Stroller walk around town with a mother’s group. Instead, I took a short walk with him around the neighborhood with him in the stroller…but that really exacerbated his eczema on the face. The sides that took so long to heal are now weeping again. Today Benji’s skin on his body flared up as well. Is the sleeping bag another cause of his flare-ups? Was it because I had zucchini – a supposedly safe vegetable but one that I rarely eat – for lunch and dinner yesterday? Is he allergic to the fish oil or probiotics? I don’t know. I don’t understand. And I know I’m not alone on this but I hate not knowing. Sigh.  Regression, just after a small celebratory post just a couple days ago. Argh.

This is life with a child who needs extra attention. I have to learn to accept that…before all this, I had plans to take him to baby swim classes after he passes his 4 month mark, attend post-natal pilates classes that I can take Benji to as well, and go for coffees and walks with moms I had met here. But all of that is now put on hold. Indefinitely. Adjustments.

Anyway, after daddy got home from work, we took a walk with Benji in the Bjorn. The Bjorn has worked for us really well in terms of transporting Benji around in such a way that he does not have any opportunity to scratch his face or head since his arms are strapped to the sides.

20120323-172803.jpg

Just a few more days till our Ped Dermatologist’s appointment. Fingers crossed his skin won’t get even worse anymore.

Till then, I need to really REALLY learn to take a deep breath, trust God, and relax.

3 comments
  1. hnMom said:

    I am sorry to hear that things got worse again. Hopefully, you will get some answers next week.
    I know just how you feel about not bring able to do the things you planned. When I was pregnant, I had all kinds of ideas what I would do once the baby was born. Turns out, I couldn’t do any of those things. The first few months it was a struggle to even get out of the house. A day where I was able to go for a short walk was a huge success.
    Hang in there!

    • the speech monster said:

      Hey there thanks so much for being such a support. I feel like I’m whining too much these days :-). Yeah I guess we just gotta deal with what we got…
      How did u cope ?? Do u have extra help??

      • hnMom said:

        Both our families live overseas, so I don’t have any extra help. Is just my husband and I, and he has to work. He did take off three weeks in the beginning, though.
        And then I just took it one day at a time, sometimes one hour at a time for about the first 7 months of her life. Then things slowly got easier. 🙂

Leave a Reply

