Miyeok Guk: not just for the nursing mom

20120727-082424.jpg

For those who know me personally, or have known me from reading my blog, you’ll know that both Bry and I are foodies. We love eating and making foods from a lot of different cultures. It also helps that both Bry and I, although we look fairly similar in skin, eye, and hair color, are actually of different cultural backgrounds: he is Korean-American who was born and bred in Los Angeles, and I am Singaporean Chinese. Through him, I got a solid introduction to Korean food (among other foods such as Mexican, which seems to be more of a comfort food to him than Korean – Hmmm!, Southern, and Jewish) and I LOVE it.

Over the years, I picked up a few Korean recipes from his mom and after Benji was born, she wrote me telling me to make Myeok Guk (seaweed soup) which was a staple post-partum dish in the Korean culture. It is supposed to be rich in calcium and iodine, which is said to help with the supply and quality of breast milk. At that time, my mom who flew over from Singapore to help me out with my post-partum cultural confinement was already making me all sorts of post-partum dishes (which were awesomely delicious, by the way) so I did not make it until much later. But OH MY when I did, I just wanted to keep eating it. The Koreans really know what they’re doing, making a winning combination of both healthy and tasty food. My mother-in-law was pleased that I made the soup and enjoyed it so much. In fact, even Bry had some of it and demanded for more. Apparently, this soup is also traditionally served at birthdays. I think in our household it will be enjoyed at anytime, just because it’s so yummy.

It’s also simple to whip up, so busy moms can make this easily. The only trick is getting the seaweed, which would be available at any Korean grocery store if you can get to one. The recipe I used was mostly “by taste.”  Here’s an actual recipe if you want to try it out. In one version, I used ground pork and marinated it for a couple hours in soy sauce, crushed garlic, and sesame oil, then sauteed it, added some chicken stock (was lazy!), then the seaweed, and let the ingredients cook for about 30 minutes, and the soup was done!

(A side note: I’m really into cross-cultural experiences and love how every culture seems to have their own post-partum beliefs and staple foods to help with breastmilk quality and supply. A friend of mine who is Russian Jew swears by cow’s milk and said to have it with tea “mother’s milk tea.” in the Philippines, I believe, it’s green papaya, in Cantonese, it’s red snapper, in Korea it’s seaweed. In the west, it’s milk tea, too, and fenugreek. Here’s an interesting article to read about cross cultural post-partum beliefs. )

3 comments
  1. Yum! We have a korean market near our home. I typically only purchase kale, bok choy and chicken. I really should learn how to make the broth and sauces. I’ve miserably failed at making Chinese sauces. Do you have any tips or tricks that you use in your dishes?

    • the speech monster said:

      Hmmm I’ve got to think about this one! What kinds of sauces you thinking of we usually just buy the pre mixes that come in a jar! Lol. But I have made Thai green curry paste and ma po sauce from scratch. No real secret just follow recipes and tweak them to suit my taste. I’ll think about it more and let u know if I Jae any more tips

      • I love garlic based sauces! I tried to replicate two of my favorite meals: bok choy and shiitake mushroom with a clear sauce AND spicy eggplant and pork with a garlic brown sauce. I have yet to even come close to mastering either of these dishes.

        I honestly never thought of buying them pre-made. That is really a great idea. Your Thai green curry paste sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

